The Northumbrian Office

I love the Northumbrian Office, and this morning I have been watching videos on the history of the community. I thought I would share this one on how the Office was developed, because it is so interesting that their starting part was the Jewish ‘Shema’ and ‘Vahavta’ from Deuteronomy 6,

Hear, O Israel: The Lord our God is one Lord:

And thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thine heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy might.

These videos from the Northumbrian community are so encouraging, especially in the way they come across as so natural and normal rather than super-holy saints. It gives me hope that my vision and passion need not be hampered by my ordinariness!

 

Leave a Reply

