The Creeds are historic Christian documents framing the basis of Christian belief. The first two creeds are known as the ‘Ecumenical’ Creeds since at the time they were framed, the Church had not yet fractured into the divisions of Roman Catholic, the various Orthodox (Greek, Eastern, Coptic, Syrian, Antiochan) churches and so on. However, this is not quite accurate, since the Jewish (and Celtic) church was not represented at the Ecumenical Councils and was effectively (if not actually) excluded.

– Nicene Creed

– Apostles’ Creed

– Athanasian Creed

Jewish believers would not necessarily reject any of the Creeds; however the Nicene Creed is particularly problematic since it was framed at the Council of Nicea, whose agenda was specifically to divorce Christianity from groups with whom the majority disagreed – primarily the followers of Arius, of The Arian Heresy (believing that Jesus was of a lesser divine nature than the Father), and secondarily the Ebionites who may not have accepted Jesus as divine at all, and by extension from all Jewish believers. This was largely achieved by purposely divorcing the Christian Paschal feast from its Jewish origins by determining an alternative calculation method and this was followed quickly afterward by Canon Law forbidding the observation of the Jewish sabbath.

See our pages on History and Easter for more information.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s